University of Wuppertal

Address

Search

our Group Members

Projects

W-Boson Analyses of the DELPHI Group of Wuppertal

 

Between 1996 and 2000 the center-of-mass energy of the large electron positron collider LEP at CERN was above the threshold of the W-pair production e+e- -> W+W-. A precise measurement of the cross-section of this process represents an important test of the Standard Model of particle physics and allows inferences about the existence of new physics.

At DELPHI the cross-section was determined at 10 different center-of-mass energies between 161 and 207 GeV. The results were compared to the most recent and most precise theory predictions and a very good agreement is found:

 

The ratio between experimenal result and theoretical prediction for all energies above 180 GeV is found to be:

R_WW = 1.001 +- 0.012 (stat) +- 0.010 (syst) +- 0.005 (theo) .

Not only the cross-section but also the branching fraction of the W-pair production was determined. The high precision of this measurement (below 0.5%) allows in addition a very precise determination of the element V_cs of the Cabbibo-Kobayashi-Maskawa matrix.

The main focus of the analyses performed in Wuppertal was the hadronic decay channel of the W-pair production (W+W- -> q qbar q qbar). To improve the selection quality neural networks were used successfully.

 

 

Publications and links:

 

Colleagues:

Former colleagues:


WWW-Administrator Mail to WWW-Administrator
Last Modification: Juli 16, 2004

Universität Wuppertal

Adresse

Suche

Projekte


W-Boson-Analysen der Wuppertaler DELPHI Gruppe

 

Im Zeitraum von 1996 bis 2000 lief der Elektron-Positron-Beschleuniger LEP am CERN bei Energien oberhalb der Schwelle der W-Paarproduktion e+e- -> W+W-. Eine präzise Messung des Wirkungsquerschnitts dieses Prozesses stellt einen wichtigen Test des Standardmodells der Elementarteilchenphysik dar und ermöglicht auch Rückschlüsse auf die Existenz neuer Physik.

Bei 10 verschiedenen Schwerpunktsenergien zwischen 161 bis 207 GeV wurde bei DELPHI der Wirkungsquerschnitt bestimmt und mit den aktuellsten und präzisesten Theorievorhersagen verglichen und es zeigt sich eine sehr gute Übereinstimmung:

 

Für das Verhältnis aus experimentellem Ergebnis und theoretischer Erwartung ergibt sich über alle Energien ab 183 GeV:

R_WW = 1.001 +- 0.012 (stat) +- 0.010 (syst) +- 0.005 (theo) .

Neben dem Wirkungsquerschnitt wurden auch die Verzweigungsverhältnisse der W-Paarproduktion bestimmt. Die hohe Genauigkeit von unter 0.5% ermöglichte darüber hinaus auch noch eine sehr präzise Bestimmung des Elementes V_cs der Cabbibo-Kobayashi-Maskawa-Matrix.

Der Schwerpunkt der Wuppertaler Analysen lag im hadronischen Zerfallskanal der W-Paarproduktion (W+W- -> q qbar q qbar). Zur Verbesserung der Selektionsqualität wurden sehr erfolgreich neuronale Netze eingesetzt.

 

Publikationen und Links:

 

Mitarbeiter:

ehemaliger Mitarbeiter:


WWW-Administrator Mail to WWW-Administrator
Letzte Änderung: Juli 16, 2004